Voting Information

Be an Informed Voter ~ Voting is a right and an important civic responsibility.

Are You Registered to Vote?

If you aren't sure if you are registered to vote, you can: 

Check Online at the California Secretary of State Website
✪ Call the Santa Cruz County Election Department at 831-454-2060
✪ Check the Santa Cruz County Elections Department Website

If you need to register or re-register to vote:

✪ You can register to vote online 
✪ You can get a fill out a voter registration card (available at the library and other government offices)

If you miss the deadline to register to vote (October 22, 2018 for the November 6, 2018 election) you can still register and then vote between October 23, 2018 - November 6, 2018) at these locations:
1. Santa Cruz County Elections Department - 701 Ocean Street, Room 310, Santa Cruz (Monday - Friday: 8am-5pm)
2. Watsonville City Clerk's Office - 275 Main Street, 4th Floor, Watsonville (Monday - Friday: Hours)

Learn About the Candidates and the Issues

✪ Attend a debate
✪ Talk with other people
✪ Read the newspaper & voter guides

Official Voter Information Guide from the California Secretary of State  & Spanish Version
Santa Cruz County Elections Information
Voters Edge California (a nonpartisan guide from the League of Women's Voters
Easy Voter Guide (also from the League of Women's Voters) & Easy Voter Guide in Spanish


Voting Dates & Deadlines for the November 6, 2018 election are:

Monday, October 8th: First day of early voting. Vote at the Santa Cruz County Elections Office or the Watsonville City Clerk's Office.
Tuesday, October 9th: First day to begin mailing ballots for voters who have signed up to vote by mail. 

Monday, October 22nd: Last day to register to vote via a registration card or online. 
Tuesday, October 30th: Last day to request a vote-by-mail ballot.

Saturday November 3rd & Sunday November 4th - Weekend voting is available at the Santa Cruz County Elections Department (9am - 5pm) and the Watsonville City Clerk's Office (9am - 5pm). 

Tuesday, November 6th: Election Day! Polls open at 7am and close at 8pm.